Thursday, 26 May 2011

Tasty Cyanide Radio #023

This is a special month for Tasty Cyanide Radio, as I embark on a new guest mix series - the Originators. The title might not be that original, those that are doing the mixes sure are. While all of my previous guests have been amazing artists in their own right - cutting edge musicians at the top of their game... I decided to step it up a bit. For this next mix series, I have sought out mixes from those who helped change not just bass music - but all electronic music as we know it.

These are the Game Changers.

Originators Guest Mix 01: Unique 3

When it came to choosing who should begin this new series, there really was no question. Only one person was OG enough to truly set it off.

Regularly cited by Goldie, LFO, Chemical Brothers & Coldcut as a major influence, Unique 3 was the first to sample the "Amen" break in a dance track and their track "The Theme" was voted as the #1 track played at the legendary Hacienda club in the 90's.

Unique 3 also enjoyed chart success - breaking the UK national Top 20 with "Musical Melody", as well as having four Top 5 Club hits (including two Number 1's).

Not content to rest on the successes of the past, Unique 3 runs the Mutate record label - which features music from legends (Si Begg, Mark Archer) as well as new talents (Koian, Underpass, etc).

TCR023 - 24 May 2011


01. Dark Sky - Ghost Notes (Black Acre)
02. Threnody - Be There (UK Trends)
03. Sorrow - Existence (L2S)
04. Grizzly-J - Let's Party (Bass Star)
05. Whistla - PillowTalk [Duncan Powell remix] (L2S)
06. Lando Kal - Further (Hotflush)
07. Troy Gunner - Sworn I'll Forget (L2S)
08. 16 Bit - In the Death Car (Boka)
09. Grandtheft - Let Me Out (Plant Music)
10. Jean Nippon - Lost in Music (Institubes)
11. Kraak & Smaak - Woman is Made for Man (Jalepeno)
12. Space Ranger - Night Moves (Lovemonk)
13. Basement Freaks - Something Freaky (Jalepeno)
14. Prince - Billy Jack Bitch (Warner Bros)

***Originators 01: Exclusive Set by Unique 3 ***

01. DJ Premier - Waaaaaa
02. Diddy – Dirty Money - Coming Home feat Skylar Grey
03. Mord Fustang - Milky Way (Original Mix)
04. Hypster - The Thrillseekers (Part 2)
05. Hypster - Neon Teens (Original Mix)
06. Mord Fustang - The Electric Dream (Original Mix)
07. Journeyman & BARRcode - Criminal Minds (Unique 3's Laptop Mix)
08. DJ Dank - Step Right Up (Original Mix)
09. Sue Cho, Scooter & Lavelle - Beats Inside My Head (Donald Glaude & Revolvr Remix)
10. Jace Syntax - Jackin Around (Unique 3 Remix)
11. Mord Fustang – Lick The Rainbow (Original Remix)
12. Wolfgang Gartner – Illmerica (Extended Mix)


15. DJ Alladin, DJ Honda, DJ Yutaka, ASAP Productions - The Track (Bomb Hip Hop)
16. tha Alkaholiks - Likwit Ridas (Loud)
17. Omnibus - Back Up Off the Floor (unreleased)
18. Ra - Fudge Brownie Brain (Coredump)
19. AK Kids feat. Argyle Pimps - Rock On (forthcoming on Lowriders)
20. Harmonic 313 - Problem 6 (Warp)
21. Mr. Wiggles - I Can Dig It (
22. Puppetmastaz - Do the Swamp (Louisville)
23. Hermutt Lobby - Panic On Funkatron (Catune)
24. Bernard Permagiani - Murmurants (Agon)
25. Leafcutter John - Walk On My Back (Planet Mu)

No comments:

Post a Comment